Breathe

Standard

They say that in those moments, when the earth stops spinning, that you should breathe.

To those who have never been there, to the ends of the earth and back, this advice seems easy to heed.

For those of us who have endured the sinking in the chest from the loss of what you wish to keep,

Sadly, we know all too well that a dagger through the heart feels so very deep.

You can try to swim the bloody water, though, I regret to say you’ll find its easier to sleep.

Dreams are hard to come by, as you toss and turn in bed, getting tangled in the sheets.

We’re harshly reminded of the past through visions of pure bliss we only see in our dreams.

These memories are entangled with the possibilities of tomorrow, projecting pure deceit.

As my eyes slowly open, letting in the light of today, I will keep my misery discrete.

I wouldn’t want to harm them, afraid the sadness falling from my eyes just might seep

Into the very structure of the earth, producing even more sadness for the world to reap.

I retreat inside myself, where a happy little world resides, a place where I create my own reality.

A place where I feel safe enough to finally be just me.

One thought on “Breathe

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your
    website. It looks like some of the written text on your posts are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?

    This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve
    had this happen previously. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

