The Awkward Start

Standard

and, um, maybe we could
just for a moment or two
I was wondering if you would
but, please, you don’t have to.

perhaps you might take my hand
and, well, I know its a bit soon
but, eventually you could be my man
and we could lay naked under the moon

shoot, don’t mind my clumsy words
I’m letting my mouth run rapidly
sometimes I lack the grace of “girls”
their empty words spin vapidly

don’t be frightened by my jagged edges
the closer you get; the softer they feel
my walls are built high like overgrown hedges
the sweeter you taste; the more i reveal

I promise I won’t get too close
at least not until you want me to
we can talk about the things we like the most
there’s not a thing in the world i would make you do

you see, its just, not that you asked,
but, i just don’t want to be alone
I’m sorry if I’m taking things way too fast
its been a long time since I’ve felt at home.

and there’s something in the way you talk to me
that brings me to a place inside
where all the best feelings like to be
as I sit back to enjoy the ride…

3 thoughts on “The Awkward Start

  1. Love love loved this!
    don’t be frightened by my jagged edges
    the closer you get; the softer they feel
    my walls are built high like overgrown hedges
    the sweeter you taste; the more i reveal

    Excellent bit of poetry, darling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

